207 Bru Voters With Votes in Tripura Removed From Mizoram Electoral Roll


Mizoram welcomes Bru Voters
A heartfelt welcome for the Bru refugee voters By YMA Kanhmun Branch
2018 State Assembly Election 

Aizawl: 207 Bru voters who fled Mizoram for Tripura have been removed from the Mizoram Electoral Roll and efforts are being made to remove Bru voters who have been included in Tripura state voter list according to a report by Zalen News.  

Election department officials said that 207 voters from various constituencies such as Hachhek constituency, Dampa constituency,  Mamit constituency, Tuirial constituency, Kolasib constituency, Serlui constituency and  Thorang constituency, have been deleted from Mizoram Electoral Roll.  

According to officials from the Election department 1090 Bru refugees have already been registered in the Tripura E/Roll and another 1786 Bru voters are applying for enrollment. Tripura Government has notified the Mizoram Government of the names of those included in the state's E/Roll, voters lists are then deleted/updated referencing this. 

According to the Chief Electoral Officer, Mizoram, 11,232 Bru refugees from Tripura were registered on the Mizoram electoral roll before the 2018 MLA elections.

The Mizos

The Mizos is a one-man team news blog, that brings you news and stories from Mizoram, Northeast India and the rest of the World.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post