Google translate adds support for Mizo, Manipuri, Assamese and 21 other new languages

Google Translate now supports 24 new languages that are rarely seen on most tech platforms, according to the company's I/O 2022 Keynote on Wednesday. This new addition brings Google Translate's overall number of supported languages to 133. According to the search giants, the newly added languages are spoken by approximately 300 million people in various regions of the world. The Mizo language, spoken by up to 1 million people in northeast India, and Lingala, spoken by over 45 million people in Central Africa, are two major additions. For the first time, Google Translate now supports various indigenous languages of the Americas, including Quechua, Guarani, and Aymara.

Google enlisted the help of various professors and linguists who are native speakers of these languages. It's also a technical milestone for Google, as these are the first languages to be introduced to Google Translate via Zero-Shot Machine Translation. This system makes use of a machine learning model that "learns to translate into another language without ever seeing an example." Google admits that this technology isn't flawless, but it vows to keep improving it so that it can translate popular languages like Spanish and German in a similar way.

Google also unveiled new features for Wear OS and Android tablets during its I/O event, as well as a new Wallet app. Multisearch improvements and a new Scene Exploration feature were among the upgrades highlighted by the search giant. Another big announcement was Google Docs' phishing and malware protection, as well as new virtual cards for online payments.

Here is the full list of the 24 new languages now available on Google Translate:

Assamese — Northeast India

Aymara — Bolivia, Chile, and Peru

Bambara — Mali

Bhojpuri — India, Nepal, and Fiji

Dhivehi — Maldives

Dogri — Northern India

Ewe — Ghana and Togo

Guarani — Paraguay, Bolivia, Argentina, and Brazil

Ilocano — Northern Philippines

Konkani — Central India

Krio — Sierra Leone

Kurdish — Iraq

Lingala — Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Central African Republic, Angola, and the Republic of South Sudan

Luganda — Uganda and Rwanda

Maithili — Northern India

Meiteilon (Manipuri) — Northeast India

Mizo — Northeast India

Oromo — Ethiopia and Kenya

Quechua — Peru, Bolivia, and Ecuador

Sanskrit — India

Sepedi — South Africa

Tigrinya — Eritrea and Ethiopia

Tsonga — Eswatini, Mozambique, South Africa, and Zimbabwe

Twi — Ghana

Also Read: My first visit to Aizawl by Sominthang Doungel

The Mizos

The Mizos is a one-man team news blog, that brings you news and stories from Mizoram, Northeast India and the rest of the World.


  1. A áš­hat hmel hle mai

  2. I update google translate application, but, there is no mizo language and other north east languages.

Previous Post Next Post